2016 Safety For All Act

Were very proud to support California Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom and endorse the "Safety for All Act of 2016" as he works to enact commonsense gun reforms.


Lost or Stolen Firearms (section 4)
Beginning July 1, 2017, owners of firearms have to report the theft or loss of a firearm within 5
days. First and second offenses for failure to report are infractions with fines up to $1000,
subsequent offenses are misdemeanors with up to 6 months in jail and/or up to $1000 fine.
Additional fines and/or penalties available for false reports. Law enforcement must comply with
respect to their personal guns.

Strengthening Federal Background Checks (section 5)
Beginning July 1, 2017, require all future AGs to do what current State DOJ does voluntarily:
report information to NICS (federal background check system) about which California residents
are prohibited from owning guns, and continue conducting its own background checks on gun
buyers. Contains privacy safeguards for reported information.

Large Capacity Magazines (section 6)
Require owners to get rid of large capacity
magazines by July 1, 2017 by removing them from
the state, selling them to a dealer, or giving them to law enforcement for destruction. Violators
can be given an infraction with a $100 fine per magazine, or a misdemeanor with up to one year
in jail or $100 fine per magazine.

Firearms Dealers (section 7)
Require firearms dealers to report lost or stolen ammunition, and, by January 1, 2018, conduct
background checks on employees.

Sales of Ammunition (sections 8 and 9)
Beginning January 1, 2018, require dealers who sell more than 500 rounds of ammunition per
month to become licensed ammunition venders. Dealers who are already licensed firearms
dealers would automatically be deemed licensed ammunition dealers. Require venders to report
the loss or theft of ammunition to law enforcement, and conduct background checks on
Beginning July 1, 2019, require all sales of ammunition to be made through licensed vendors.
Sales of ammunition by unlicensed individuals would have to be processed through a licensed
ammunition vendor, and sales over the Internet would have to be delivered to a licensed
ammunition vendor. Require ammunition purchasers to apply to DOJ for an ammunition
purchase authorization number that would be valid for 4 years at a cost of $50 and a possible 30
day wait. Purchasers would have to use that number for an “instant” background check at each
ammunition purchase, but sales would be immediate (no waiting period).
Transfers of ammunition – where no money is exchanged – would not have to be processed
through vendors but would have to be conducted in a face-to-face
transaction. Impose misdemeanor for straw purchases.

Relinquishment of Firearms by Convicted Criminals (section 10)
Beginning January 1, 2018, require courts to inform defendants, at the time of conviction, that
their conviction deprives them of the right to own a firearm for 10 years or permanently.
Requires them to dispose of firearms, generally within 14 days or less, and provide court with
documentation about disposal. Court would issue search warrant if known firearms were not
proven to be relinquished as required.

Theft of Firearms (section 11)
Clarifies that the theft of a gun can be charged as a felony. Makes it illegal for people who have
been convicted of the theft of a firearm to possess firearms.